Special Honors

The Syracuse Press Club Board of Directors each year bestows special honors to a newcomer, news source, lifetime achiever and a journalist who exemplifies professional standards. Nominations are open for any member of the print, broadcast or online press working in the 21 counties served by the club.

The Selwyn Kershaw Professional Standards Award is presented to individuals whose high standards in performing their work serves as an inspiration to others.

The A. Brohmann Roth Newcomer Award is presented to individuals who are just beginning their careers in journalism.  To be eligible for this award, nominees must be in their first three years of employment in print, broadcast, or new media.

The Philip A. Hofmann Transparency Award recognizes those involved in making news that provide access, information, and insight to journalists covering stories important to the citizens of Central New York.

The prestigious Bill Carey Journalist of the Year Award, named after legendary Syracuse broadcaster Bill Carey, recognizes one journalist who stands out among their peers for their contributions to news coverage in a 12-month period. The club accepts nominations from working members of Central New York media. You may not nominate yourself. Each entry must consist of three work samples (multi-part series count as one) from over the course of the last year, and a nomination letter. This is not a lifetime achievement award.

The Wall of Distinction is the Syracuse Press Club’s highest honor. Outstanding Central New York journalists who earn this lifetime achievement award are permanently enshrined on the Wall of Distinction, located in the theater lobby of the John H. Mulroy Civic Center in Syracuse.

Deadline: March 10, 2024

Nominate Someone