Our 41st Annual Professional Recognition Awards & Dinner

The Syracuse Press Club thanks all the entrants to this year’s 41st Annual Professional Recognition Awards Contest. Judges from across America reviewed the entries and awarded first, second and third-place winners in numerous competitions in TV, radio, print, online and college journalism categories. Our awards were handed out at our banquet on Saturday, April 27. Are you in one of our pictures?

Over 200 people attended the annual event at the Genesee Grande in Syracuse. Spectrum News anchor Iris St. Meran and WWNY-TV news anchor Jeff Cole served as emcees.

Newcomer Award Winner Katelynn Ulrich accepts her award as she is greeted by Spectrum News colleague and cameraman Benjamin Augustine.

Special club awards were given to the following journalists:

  • Syracuse.com / The Post-Standard editor Steven Billmeyer was awarded the Selwyn Kershaw Professional Standards Award.
  • Katelynn Ulrich, Spectrum News, was named winner of the A. Brohmann Roth Newcomer Award, given to journalists with less than three years of professional experience.
  • Onondaga Co Sheriff’s Sgt Jon Seeber received the Philip A. Hofmann President’s Award for Best News Source.
  • Debra Born of Utica College received the DeVesty-Williams Scholarship.  The $2,000 scholarship is selected by a committee of journalism educators and professionals.  They evaluate applicants on their academic achievement, involvement in extracurricular activities, media samples, professional references and a personal philosophy statement.
  • Robert Harding of the Auburn Citizen was awarded Bill Carey Journalist of the Year Award.
  • John O’Brien, formerly of the Post-Standard, was added to our Wall of Distinction. 

See the full list of winners with judges’ comments.