Kenneth Jackson named to Syracuse Press Club Wall of Distinction

The Syracuse Press Club is pleased to announce Urban CNY’s longtime news editor and publisher Ken Jackson has been named to the SPC Wall of Distinction for 2023! This is the club’s highest honor.

Ken has served as writer, publisher and editor of Urban CNY (The Constitution) for almost 35 years. As an original resident of the 15th Ward neighborhood, Ken has written extensively about his community dismantled by Interstate 81 and urban renewal. He has covered Syracuse business, education, politics, health, neighborhoods, events, entertainment and more. He has also been a contributor to the Syracuse New Times and Eagle Newspapers.

In her nomination of Ken for the Wall of Distinction, Central Current editor Julie McMahon wrote:

“Essentially a one-man reporting-editing-multimedia-business-operations show, Ken is tough, dogged, and possesses a deep well of compassion for those willing to put in the time and show up for the issues important to Central New York residents. His has been an integral voice to critical conversations about the future of the community. Ken is unafraid to speak up and use his voice to question authority. He holds all around him to a very high standard, and in doing so sets an example to other local journalists: an example that shows how it is acceptable to question the status quo, that there is more than one way to report the news, that voices outside of the mainstream matter too.”

Ken is a 1975 graduate of Bishop Ludden High School and 1979 graduate of Ithaca College. He has won over 30 press club awards, including best blog/column for “The Hall Monitor” over numerous years. He served as Syracuse Press Club president from 1994-1996. Ken also won the 2004 award for Best Column from the New York Press Association.

Congratulations Ken on your long and illustrious career. You will have a permanent place on the Syracuse Press Club’s Wall of Distinction.

We look forward to celebrating you at the SPC banquet on Saturday, May 6!

Syracuse Press Club’s Wall of Distinction is located in The Oncenter Civic Center.

2022: Scott Atkinson named to Syracuse Press Club Wall of Distinction

2021: James T. Mulder named to Syracuse Press Club Wall of Distinction

2021: Shawn Wayson named to Syracuse Press Club Wall of Distinction

2020: Michael Greenlar named to Syracuse Press Club Wall of Distinction

2020: Eddie Jones named to Syracuse Press Club Wall of Distinction

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>