Send us your

company news! Share

your organization's information.

Send releases to


38th Annual Professional Recognition Awards and Scholarship Dinner

April 30, 2016, 6 PM cocktails, 7 PM dinner

at Drumlins Country Club, 800 Nottingham Road

 Follow syrpressclub on Twitter
  • As business shifts to online retailers, McClatchy is feeling the squeeze
    McClatchy today reported operating at a 4.5 percent profit margin in the fourth quarter of 2015 and making considerable progress in building digital audience and advertising. But advertising revenues continue to deteriorate, down 11.7 percent year-to-year in total. The culprit, not new but worsening, is that bricks-and-mortar stores have been losing sales to Amazon and […]
  • A win, a helicopter and lots of collaboration led to today’s Denver Post front page
    Linda Shapley has waited about 10 years for the chance to see a front page like the one The Denver Post published Wednesday. When the Denver Broncos won the Super Bowl on Sunday, Tuesday's victory parade offered the perfect chance. Here's a look at how the wraparound looks to readers today: In the top spot […]
  • Mobile users may be as valuable to advertisers as desktop, Facebook results suggest
    Cory Bergman, general manager of NBC's Breaking News mobile startup, published a blog post the other day with a provocative headline: "The Surprising Value of a Mobile User." That familiar truism about trading print dollars for digital dimes, then for mobile pennies may no longer be true if it ever was, Bergman (a former member […]
Wall of Distinction
The Wall of Distinction is where outstanding journalists in Central New York are permanently enshrined.The Syracuse Press Club's Wall of Distinction is located in the theater lobby of the John H. Mulroy Civic Center in downtown Syracuse.
      First proposed by SPC President Jeff Paston, the Wall of Distinction became reality during President Chris Weidman?s administration. In between, President Tracy Carmen appointed Joe Porcello, Bob Greabell, Marilyn Dietz Nicholson, and Paston to a committee to get the project going.
     With help from Onondaga County Executive Nick Pirro, the Wall was placed in the Civic Center building. The first group of inductees was installed on Dec. 4, 2000, formally kicking off the Syracuse Press Club's 50th anniversary observance. In addition to plaques honoring inductees, there is a large plaque commemorating the SPC's 50th anniversary listing the names of the Club's presidents from 1951 to 2001.
     Below are copies of the engraving on the plaques for each inductee. Click on onefor that honoree's bio.  Note we are still in the process of getting this feature up and running on  the new web site.


"Criticism of government finds sanctuary in several portions of the 1st Amendment. It is part of the right of free speech. It embraces freedom of the press."
---    Hugo L Black, Associate Justice, US Supreme Court

Wall of Distinction

Nevart Apikian

The Post-Standard

A chance assignment, plus an opportunity to cover entertainers and their shows during her first year as a professional journalist, resulted in Nevart Apikian's lifelong career writing about music, musicians, actors, movies and theater.
Read more...Link

Who's Online?

We have 3 guests online