Send us your

company news! Share

your organization's information.

Send releases to


Syracuse Press Club

Annual Awards


May 2, 2015

at Drumlins. Make your
Reservations Now! 

 Follow syrpressclub on Twitter
  • Vox scoops up ‘Mischiefs of Faction,’ quirky political science site

    It’s a small example of the brain drain to the digital media universe.

    Vox Media is scooping up “Mischiefs of Faction,” a brainy, quirky and generally niche political science blog overseen by academics at George Mason University in Virginia and the University of Denver, among others.

    With the Internet, many academics have found new and larger audiences, but they’ve generally been on their own websites.

    Now some are aligning with mainstream and digital companies with far more firepower and ability to spread their work. In political science, the best example is “The Monkey Cage,” a blog overseen by John Sides of George Washington University and now hosted by The Washington Post.

    “Mischiefs of Faction” was started three years ago by political scientists Seth Masket of the University of Denver, Hans Noel of Georgetown University, Greg Koger of the University of Denver, Jonathan Ladd of Georgetown and Jen Victor of George Mason. Read more

  • Don’t expect real push for gun control as coverage of Virginia shootings quickly wanes

    The “issue-attention cycle” is repeating itself as coverage of the horrific Virginia shootings declines after only one week, according to an academic who has researched the nexus of coverage and political action.

    “My sense is that the killing of the two journalists is getting the same treatment as most shootings,” said Danny Hayes, a George Washington University political scientist and former journalist.

    That means it’s very unlikely that anything will happen, either in Congress or in state legislatures, when it comes to gun control or any other public policy issue that’s associated with the Virginia tragedy.

    “There is a big surge in coverage in the days afterward, owing partly to the fact that the shooting happened on television and party to the fact that the killer posted the video on social media,” Hayes said Wednesday. Read more

  • ‘The reaction has been bananas,’ says Amber Jamieson, who went topless to report on desnudas

    NYC's female leaders are backing bare boobs over de Blasio

    — New York Post Metro (@nypmetro) August 31, 2015

    Before Amber Jamieson pitched a literal exposé to her editor at the New York Post, she mentally prepared herself to appear nearly nude in the newspaper.

    But when she began reporting, she had no idea her first-person account of working as a desnuda — the painted street performers in New York City — would grace the front page of the Post.

    Several days and nearly 1,000 Twitter followers later, Jamieson says she was surprised by the feedback — most of it positive — the article elicited from fellow journalists and readers. Poynter caught up with Jamieson, who talked about the origins of the story, her short-lived experience as a performer and how she took notes on the job without a pen, paper or pockets. Read more

Awards presented for best CNY journalism of 2012

The Syracuse Press Club honored the best journalism of 2012 at an awards ceremony Saturday night at Drumlins Country Club, in Syracuse.

The club's 35th annual Scholarship and Professional Recognition Awards dinner honored exceptional work in local print, broadcast and online.

 Among the highlights of the evening,  broadcasters WCNY-TV, YNN, CNYCentral and Newschannel 9 shared a first place award in the Special Television Program category for their jointly produced special Protecting Our Children. It was a project aimed at the problem of physical and sexual abuse of children.

Also among the highlights of the evening, won for best news website,  The Post-Standard won for spot news coverage.  The Binghamton Press and Sun Bulletin was honored for best investigative reporting in a daily newspaper. Carol Thompson of the Valley News won investigative in a non-daily paper. WAER FM 88 won for best newscast on radio, and Newschannel 9 at 5 won best newscast in television.

The evening was hosted by Post-Standard/ sports columnist Bud Poliquin and Newschannel 9 reporter Tammy Palmer.

The Press Club also honored several individuals for their body of work.   CNYCentral multi media journalist Tom Eschen won the A. Brohmann Roth Newcomer award.   Recently retired WKTV anchorman Bill Worden was honored with the Gus Bliven-JoeGanley-Mario Rossi Career Achievement Award. 

The club also honored two former Post-Standard journalists with the Selwyn Kershaw Professional Standards Award.  John Berry spent his career at the paper as an award winning photographer.   Toni Guidice was honored for her nearly 30 year career and high standards as a  copy editor for the paper.

Three individuals shared the Philip Hofmann President's Award for Best News Source.  Ken Heffernan and Joe Galloway, investigators with the Syracuse Fire Department and Kae Young, public affairs officer with the 10th Mountain Division at Fort Drum were honored for their efforts to provide journalists with the information they need to report the news in a timely fashion.

The Syracuse Press Club is also proud to present a $2,000 scholarship to Paul Valentino, a student graduating from Onondaga Community college.

The Syracuse Press Club would like to sincerely thank the journalists and news managers of our local media for their hard work, dedication to their craft, and their support of the club by participating in our awards competition and attending this dinner.  Your support makes this event possible and makes possible the presentation of a scholarship to a journalism student.

Click here for a PDF file of the 2012 winners.


Last Updated ( Monday, 06 May 2013 00:55 )
"Everything is being compressed into tiny tablets. You take a little pill of news every day—23 minutes—and that’s supposed to be enough."
--Walter Cronkite

Wall of Distinction

Cornelius O'Leary


Cornelius O'Leary received what he refers to "that critical call that changed my life" in 1964 while he was taking a respite from his early broadcasting career.
Read more...Link

Who's Online?

We have 14 guests online